The joys of fostering

Working with Home Fur-ever has been a great experience.  Each dog that enters my home and heart leaves me with a deeper understanding of so many things.

Why Foster?

Why Foster?

 Like unconditional love, the kind of love that allows trust to re-emerge and bloom.  And trust, not only in yourself, but in others, and in the process that is life.   To respect discipline, routine and structure, as we all need fences as much as freedom.   And to live each day to the fullest.

Why Foster?

Why Foster?

To dance, sing and be silly with the fur babies as they learn to live again.  Oh, and marvel at the power of food.  Let me share a bit about some of my fur babies that came into my life, and how we are all richer for this.

Luca is a special boy.  My friend, another nurse, contacted me to say his mom was in her ICU after having a seizure while driving, got into an accident and may never recover.  No one wanted him (yes, a pibble- my cute word for pit bull), and he was only a year old.  Living in Royal Oak, if he was taken to the shelter he would surely have been put to sleep.

Why Foster?

Why Foster?

She asked me to take him, and our director kindly agreed.  Although one of the best, sweetest mannered pits I ever had, he just sulked around the house.  This lasted for weeks.  Then one day he outwardly started crying.  I didn’t see anything wrong, so I contacted my friend to ask about his human mom, only to find out she had just died.  I consoled him as best I could.

Why Foster?

Why Foster?

 Then the work began, getting him to enjoy my yard and play with the other two large dogs.  Play with other dogs was new to him, but he started really enjoying himself.  But he always seemed like he wanted something more.  Finally, his forever family came to our Belleville event.  Not only was the dad a nurse, but played poker using Godfather names, loved the name Luca, AND was looking for a well mannered pibble to stay with his wife during the day.  Match made in heaven!

Why Foster?

Why Foster?

Trigger is another special boy.  His mom surrendered him as he was in her apartment and the manager gave her the weekend to get rid of the dog or off to the shelter on Monday.  He is a German Shepard/Husky mix. And hyper-anxious.  When I would walk him, he would bolt for car tires, bikes, squirrels, motorcycles and trucks.  Nothing could get close to me, according to him.  This went on and on, until someone came to the event thinking he was a German guard dog called a Hovawart.

Why Foster?

Why Foster?

When I texted his mom, she filled me in on the rest of his story.  He had been trained to be a guard dog for her son, who was a heroin addict who became homeless, and she took the dog in.  Now it made sense.  He needed to be deprogrammed.  Along with some help from others in the rescue, our work began.   You could see him getting more “comfortable in his own skin”, and learning to trust and love again.  Kisses and smiles galore.  And taking him with me as much as I could, introducing him again to bikes and boats, skates and motorcycles, on his terms.  Then his forever family came to our event at Freedom Hill.  They spent a lot of time with him, and really enjoyed his spirit.  With the help of another experienced handler, we introduced him to his new fur sister.  They are now best friends and inseparable.  I get frequent pictures and updates about how great he is doing in their home.

Why Foster?

Why Foster?

Then there is my sweet Brianna.  One of our rescuers found her tied to a fence, for five days, while looking for another dog she heard was loose and mangled in the area, then saw children throwing stones at her and laughing.  She untied her from the fence, and asked for a rescue.  Our director kindly agreed, and we began the vet care and spay.  She is a spirited girl, but incredibly sweet and trusting, and taught my shy pibble to like people and trust.  She loves to play with every dog in my home, and her sweetness is infectious.  She found her forever home with a lady and her two children who adore her, and when I go to see her, she is deliriously happy to show me her new surroundings and family.

Why Foster?

Why Foster?

So, I get asked frequently, why do I foster?  I think I am being asked “what’s in it for me?” And to that, I answer, this is why….All the love, the joy, the pride, in watching my fur babies shake off all that bad back story, and make their own new ones.  I watch this, and imagine the possibilities for me…if I love, trust in the process, live each day to the fullest, respect the discipline of life.   This is why.

To learn more about Home FurEver visit our website at http://www.homefurever.com

To become a foster, complete our foster application here: http://clicktohelphomefurever.com/Foster_.html